Florida Cannabis Laws 2019-2020

// Recreational Use? No //
// Medical Program? Yes //
     — Delivery Allowed? Yes 
// Cultivation Allowed? No //

Medical Program via:
Senate Bill 182 (2019)

Allows for medical use with a recommendation from a qualified physician.

 

Qualifying Medical Conditions for Eligibility

  • Cancer 
  • Epilepsy 
  • Glaucoma 
  • HIV/AIDS 
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) 
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) 
  • Crohn’s disease 
  • Parkinson’s disease 
  • Multiple sclerosis A terminal condition diagnosed by a physician other than the qualified physician issuing the physician certification
  • Chronic nonmalignant pain.

 

Medical Program Limits:

Limits are determined by your physician. The state program sets a fixed purchase limit of 2.5oz per 35 days of flower, with personal possession under the medical program capped at 4oz per patient. Concentrates and topicals have varying limits that are set by your physician. All cannabis products must remain in their original packaging until use.

 

Methods of Use Permitted under the Medical Program:

Smoking, Vaporization, Oral (Capsules/Oils), Topical

 

Home Delivery of Medical Cannabis:

Approved medical dispensaries are permitted to deliver cannabis to qualified patients. 

 

Links to Official State Documents on Florida Medical Marijuana Program

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0700-0799/0775/Sections/0775.082.html

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0800-0899/0893/Sections/0893.13.html

http://leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0700-0799/0775/Sections/0775.083.html

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0800-0899/0893/Sections/0893.03.html

 

Non-Medical Use / Anyone Else:

Local Decriminalization Many municipalities in Florida have enacted laws, ordinances or resolutions pertaining to the decriminalization of marijauna. Of note:
  • Broward County — Cite and release for possession of 20 grams or less
  • Key West — $100 fine for possession of 20 grams or less
  • Miami Beach — $100 fine for possession of 20 grams or less
  • Miami-Dade County — $100 fine for possession of 20 grams or less
  • Orlando — $100 fine for possession of 20 grams or less
  • Palm Beach County — Cite and release for possession of 20 grams or less
  • Tampa — $75 fine for possession of 20 grams or less
  • Volusia County — $100 fine for possession of 20 grams or less
POSSESSION
Offense Penalty  Incarceration Maximum Fine Citation
20 grams (or less) Misdemeanor Up to 1 year $1,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 775.082, 775.083, 893.13(6)(b) (2019)
20 grams – 25 lbs Felony Up to 5 years $5,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 775.082, 775.083, 893.13(6)(b) (2019)
25 lbs – 2,000 lbs Felony Between 3* – 15 years $25,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 775.082, 775.083, 893.13(6)(b) (2019)
2,000 lbs to 10,000 lbs Felony Between 7* – 30 years $50,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 775.082, 775.083, 893.13(6)(b) (2019)
More than 10,000 lbs Felony Between 15* – 30 years $200,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 775.082, 775.083, 893.13(6)(b) (2019)
25 plants (or less) Felony Up to 5 years  $5,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 775.082, 775.083, 893.13(6)(b) (2019)
25 – 300 plants Felony Up to 15 years $10,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 775.082, 775.083, 893.13(6)(b) (2019)
300 – 2,000 plants Felony 3* – 15 years $25,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 775.082, 775.083, 893.13(6)(b) (2019)
2,000 – 10,000 plants Felony 7* – 30 years $50,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 775.082, 775.083, 893.13(6)(b) (2019)
Within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park or other specified area Felony 15 years $10,000 Fla. Stat. Ann § 893.13(1)(c) (2019)
Hash or concentrates Felony Up to 5 years $5,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. § 893.03(1)(c)(7) and (190) (2019)
Paraphernalia Misdemeanor Up to 1 year $1,000 Fla. Stat. Ann. § 893.147(1) (2019)
  • Mandatory Minimum Sentence

Here’s who to contact if you’ve been arrested with cannabis in Florida:

Input your search keywords and press Enter.